There is a single nave, altars dating back to the eighteenth century, first of all the richly carved (1711) designed to contain the beautiful Deposition of the Cross
by Luca Signorelli, commissioned by brotherhood of Santa Maria in 1516. In 1998 the church, after careful restoration by the Municipality of Umbertide, was transformed in the Museum of Santa Croce. Among the most interesting works, in addition to the Signorelli altarpiece, are a painting by Pomarancio depicting the Madonna and Child in Glory with Angels and Saints (1577) and a 1528 wooden sculpture of St. Roch attributed to Romano Alberti, called Il Nero, from the nearby church of San Francesco. The former church of Santa Croce is also used for recordings of classical works, with the participation of internationally renowned masters, and it is the stage of prestigious music festivals.
MUSEUM OF SANTA CROCE IN UMBERTIDE
UNIQUE TICKET FOR UMBRIA TERRE E MUSEI
FULL PRICE: € 7
REDUCED A for groups of at least 15 people and affiliated: € 5
REDUCED B for children from 6 to 14 years old: € 2
FREE (children up to 5 years old, disabled with accompanying person, Icom members, qualified tourist guides, accredited journalists)
FREE FOR RESIDENTS: free entrance in the museum of their own city and reduced ticket for the other museums of the circuit.
General ticket valid for 15 days
Personal ticket (with the person's name on it) valid for 3 months (after registration of the visitor's personal data)
October to April- on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from 10.30 am to 1 pm and from 3 to 5.30 pm
From May to September - on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from 10.30 a.m. to 1 pm and from 4 to 6.30 pm
closed on 25th December and 1st January.