Castle of Attigliano

Castle of Attigliano

The Castle of Attigliano rises up on on the edge of a terrace overlooking the Tiber valley, a picturesque and panoramic position. The name, according to tradition, derives from the numerous lime trees growing nearby, from Latin " ad tiliam".

The ancient village exudes medieval charm, even today, although not much remains of the ancient castle, only stretches of walls, six towers and the 15th century entrance portal, recently restored.

Originally, the castle was surrounded by a moat and accessible only by a drawbridge.


Over the centuries the ownership of the property passed into the hands of many prominent families. The oldest records, from 1130, reports that Bonconte of Alviano was the master, after him, the property passed to the first mayor of Todi, then to the church of Rome.

In the early years of the sixteenth century, we know from documents that it was one of the strongholds of Bartolomeo d'Alviano, who, being also a talented military architect, brought improvements to the defensive apparatus. He did not last long, because in 1527 it was devastated by Landsknechte mercenary soldiers.

After a long period of property transfers, the fief of Attigliano, together with those of Alviano and Guardea, went to enlarge the duchy of Castro, of which Pierluigi Farnese, the Pope's son, was the master. Next to the castle, where there already was a small housing cluster, the Farnese built the baronial building, which was unfortunately knocked down a few centuries later.

Explore the surroundings
Main attractions in the vicinity