Piazza Grande - Gubbio
Piazza Grande in Gubbio, among the most fascinating medieval urban projects, was built starting from 1321: it was executed in the city’s centre of gravity, through imposing renovation works of the structures supporting the hanging space and the same buildings, which appear slightly oversized compared to the historic centre.
The bulk of Consoli Palace, the only completed building, raises by overlooking the city from any point of view and by relating with the “Platea Communis" housing the Cathedral.
The space is highly scenic and is oriented towards the countryside thanks to the panoramic terrace.
The end of communal autonomies with the arrival of the Gabrielli Dominion (1350), also marks the works interruption: the Pretorio Palace will remain incomplete whereas the square’s buildings were completed just in 1482.
Consuls Palace and the Civic Museum
Consuls Palace was built between 1332 and 1349 according to a design by Angelo from Orvieto with the contribution of Matteo di Giovannello called the Gattapone.
This rectangular shaped building has a high Gothic momentum accentuated with vertical pilasters dividing the front in three distinct parts.
Its halls have been hosting since 1909 the Civic Museum collections.
The Museum collection has been set up on different floors and illustrates the local history and culture, from the prehistory to the 20th century. Absolutely important are the “Tavole iguvine”, seven bronze slabs recording the main text written in the Umbrian language and the longest description of religious rites ever given by the Western World.
The Tables represent the heart of one of the Umbrian richest archaeological collections with finds dating back to the Umbrian and Roman age.
The so-called Hall of Loggetta hosts the ceramics section, ranging from the archaic majolica (14th century) to 19th century artefacts.
On the upper floor there is, on the other hand, the Municipal Picture Gallery that illustrates the local artistic culture from Middle Ages to Baroque.
In front of the Consuls Palace there is the incomplete Gothic architecture of Palazzo Pretorio (1349), modified in 1475 and again in 1600, originally made up of three wide overlapped halls, each of whom covered with cross vaults resting on a unique central pillar; it was enlarged in 1800 and is now the municipal seat.
To the left the square is closed on the North-East side by the neoclassical Ranghiasci-Brancaleoni palace combining pre-existing buildings according to English models.