Palazzo Petrignani - Amelia
The Palazzo Petrignani is located in the charming Piazza Marconi and it's a remarkable example of 1500 Renaissance style noble building. The unfinished building was made built by Fantino Petrigani who become very important in the Papal Curia, under the protection of Pope Gregory XIII.
The stories of the building are closely linked to those regarding members of the Petrignani family, especially for what concerns Fantino and Bartholomew. The palace stands on the outside, in the part that faces the ancient Platea majors, the imposing façade built in brick masonry curtain and on four horizontal levels divided into five vertical rooms of varying size windows. In the central axis is the big door. The latter represents an unfinished doorway because the main staircase to access the upper floors was never built. The door has a "imbotto" by travertine, where the coat of arms of Bartolomeo Petrignani was placed, then removed in early 1900. The corners of the building are highlighted by rusticated travertine, which starts from the ground-level reaching up to the attic. The stylistic features of the frescoes of the rooms denote the succession of decorations made by various workforce following and were mainly attributed to the school of Zuccari (Taddeo and Federico) because of the similarity of Amelia loop with the most important and famous Palazzo Caprarola, run by the two brothers. Also attributed to Livio Agresti and his student Littardo Piccioli, over the Flemish painters, authors surely of "grottesche" decorations that are the protagonists of the ornaments' halls.
Tastes and flavours
In the surrounding area
You might also like