Museo della Ceramica - Deruta

map thumbnail

Tourist information and welcome office
Piazza Matteotti, 18 - Loggia dei Lanari - 06121 Perugia
Established in 1898 by a group of local notables, the museum the most ancient for its tipology in Italy. Since 1998 it is housed in the fourteenth-century convent of San Francesco, completely restored.
The exhibition spaces cover a total area of 1700 square meters divided into 1200 route and 500 destined to deposits.  The temporary exhibitions are periodically set up as well as a library in the history of ceramics, which contains more than 1400 volumes are on the ground floor. The route is divided into fourteen rooms, spread over three levels, and in a great space, for the storage of ceramic materials, equipped for study activities.  The museum documents systematically local production from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century, in addition to an archaeological section, which provides an illustrative overview of the main productions of antiquity in Italy and Greece.  Interesting is the section of majolica luster, a technique that made particularly famous Deruta workshops in the sixteenth century, as well as those on the "compendiaria" production of the seventeenth century, characterized by decorative complexity and color. Thematic sections are devoted to pharmacy ceramics, reassembled original furniture an old grocery, the sixteenth-century majolica flooring and the nucleus of votive plaques, often inspired by those of the nearby sanctuary of the Madonna dei Bagni.  What makes the museum unique is the presence of a metal tower of four floors communicating on all levels with the building of the former convent; it is a stately building reserved for deposits, publicly accessible and properly equipped for study.