Scheggia, between history and nature
It was burned to the ground during the wars between the Goths and the Byzantines (532 - 552 A.D.), but was soon rebuilt by the latter to stop Lombard raids. Luceoli Castle was built on the city ruins at the beginning of the XI century. The new centre was named Schiza by the locals, as they were still influenced by the Greek language.
Scheggia was the hub of the ancient cult of Jupiter Poeninus, who was worshipped in a famous nearby temple of which there is no longer any trace despite many archaeological finds.
The charming town inside Mount Cucco Park has a rich history - there is the XIV-century Civic Tower, the last remaining gate of the ancient castle that is still standing, the church of Sant'Antonio Abate (1665), the Santi Filippo e Giacomo parish (XVI century) home to many fine works of art and the church of Mount Clavario (XVII).