Asset Publisher

Pinacoteca comunale- Deruta

Since 1999 the Municipal Art Gallery has been housed in the Consuls palace. The fourteenth century building is of Gothic style below, with eighteenth-century restoration above.

The building has been entirely dedicated to preserve the art history collection; previously the building housed the Regional Museum of Ceramics, which was transferred in the new seat of the convent of San Francesco in 1998.

Since the beginning of the twentieth century the collection was formed with works from churches that had passed to the hands of the state, and during  the century it was gradually enriched. In 1931 Consilia Pascoli, descendent and heir of the collector and art writer Lione Pascoli, who lived in the seventeenth century, donated about forty works to the town.

On the first floor it preserves paintings from the church of San Francesco and the surrounding area, among which are the Madonna dei Consoli and the Banner of Saint Anthony by Niccolò di Liberatore, called L'Alunno, and the Lord and Saints Romano and Rocco by Pietro Vannucci, known as Perugino. The Pascoli collection is found on the second floor; the collection includes works by artists active between the seventeenth and eighteenth century, such as as Giovanni Battista Gaulli, Sebastiano Conca, Francesco Trevisani, Antonio Amorosi, Francesco Graziani and Pietro Van Blomen and are important representatives of Roman collections of the early eighteenth century.

Explore the surroundings
Main attractions in the vicinity