Chiesa di Sant'Andrea - Sigillo

map thumbnail

Tourist information and welcome office
Via della Repubblica 15 - 06024 Gubbio
The church is located so close to the ancient Fortress, that it may be confused with that. You can glimpse the unfinished façade and the apse, similar to the fortress, from faraway, as well as the huge bell tower rising on the background.
The architecture of the church is in Neo-Renaissance style with a wide apse and only one nave housing columns, pilasters and capitals. The high altar is located at the centre of the apse, whereas the two lateral altars are in the only nave.
It’s worth mentioning the organ, placed above the entrance, with a decorated chancel (18th century) that was indeed built in 1793 by the famous Gaetano Callido from Venice for the church, no more existing, of St. Francis in Fabriano and then moved to Sigillo in 1869. It is still today the first and unique original of this author existing in Umbria.
Highly interesting is also the walnut choir with wide and several stalls and an imposing lectern. It carries the date of 1679. Above the choir there is a 18th century painting with a rich frame depicting the Martyr of St. Andrew.