Castle of Attigliano

map thumbnail

Ufficio informazioni accoglienza turistica
Via Cassian Bon, 4 - 05100 Terni
The Castle of Attigliano rises up on on the edge of a terrace overlooking the Tiber valley, picturesque and panoramic position. The name, according to tradition, derives from the numerous lime trees growing nearby, from Latin "ad tiliam".
The ancient village exudes, even today, a medieval charm even if it does not get so much of the old castle, only parts of the walls, six towers and the entrance portal of the 15th century, recently restored.
Originally, the castle was surrounded by a moat, so that it was accessible only by a drawbridge. Over the centuries the ownership of the property passed into the hands of many prominent families.
In 1130 the first reports: Bonconte of Alviano was the master, after him, the property passed to the first mayor of Todi, then to the church of Rome.
In the early years of the sixteenth century, by documents, we know that it was one of the strongholds of Bartolomeo d'Alviano, who, being also a talented military architect, brought improvements to the defensive apparatus. He did not last long, because in 1527 it was devastated by Lanzichenecchi.
After a long period of property transfers, the fief of Attigliano, together with those of Alviano and Guardea, went to enlarge the duchy of Castro, of which Pierluigi Farnese, the Pope's son, was the master. Next to the castle, where there already was a small housing cluster, the Farnese built the baronial building, which was unfortunately knocked down a few centuries later.