Village

Polino


Tourist information and welcome office
Via Cassian Bon, 4 - 05100 Terni
info@iat.terni.it

 
HISTORY
Polino developed in the late Middle Ages, when the territory became a fief of the Polini, whence its name. Subsequently it was the fief of the Arrone family and the Castelli family of Terni, who built the castle that can still be seen in its original structure. History remembers Polino as a fortified town at the border between the Kingdom of Naples and the Papal States and as the place where coins were minted from gold mined locally.
ART, CULTURE, ENVIRONMENT
Surrounded by a double circuit of walls and dominated from above by the superb Renaissance Fortress built over the ruins of a preceding fort, with an imposing cylindrical tower, the urban fabric has preserved many of the characteristics of the original medieval village. In the main square there is a majestic Fountain, built in 1625 by Marquis Castelli, Count of Collestatte and Torre Orsina in the late Roman Mannerist style. One fascinating sight is the ruins of the Castle which, nestled between Mt. Petano and the spurs of Mt. La Pelosa, had great importance in the area between Monteleone di Spoleto to the northeast and Rieti to the southeast. The Umbrian Apennines Museum deserves a visit: an interactive museum experience regarding the science, history and nature of the Umbrian mountains, it is designed for children but is very interesting and surprising also for adults. Nearby, leaving the village, one may enjoy the vast panorama: heading up toward the mountain the view sweeps southeast to Greccio, Lake Piediluco, Rieti and Leonessa, northeast toward Monteleone di Spoleto, and northward to Salto del Ciedo with the magnificent Mt. Aspra and Mt. Coscerno, where the view takes in almost the entire Valnerina. There are many paths for those who love trekking, and there is also a cross-country skiing course and a number of downhill ski runs that are excellent for beginners.