Amelia

Palazzo Petrignani - Amelia

map thumbnail


Tourist information and welcome office
Piazza Augusto Vera - 05022 Amelia
info@iat.amelia.tr.it
The Palazzo Petrignani is located in charming Piazza Marconi and is a remarkable example of a 1500s Renaissance style noble building. The unfinished building was built for Fantino Petrigani who become very important in the Papal Curia, under the protection of Pope Gregory XIII.
The history of the building is closely linked to that of the Petrignani family, especially Fantino and Bartholomew.On the side that faces the ancient Platea major, the imposing façade is built in brick masonry curtain and on four horizontal levels divided into five vertical rooms with windows of varying size. The main door is set on the central axis, but the main staircase to access the upper floors was never built. The door is framed in travertine, where the coat of arms of Bartolomeo Petrignani was placed, then removed in early 1900. The corners of the building are highlighted by rusticated travertine, which starts from the ground-level reaching up to the attic. The stylistic features of the frescoes of the rooms denote the succession of decorations made by various hands over the years and are mainly attributed to the school of Zuccari (Taddeo and Federico) because of the similarity between the Amelia cycle and the important and famous Palazzo Caprarola, executed by the two brothers. Other works are attributed to Livio Agresti and his student Littardo Piccioli, and to Flemish painters, authors surely of the "grotesque" decorations in the halls.