Tourist information and welcome office
Piazza Mazzini 10 - 06061 Castiglione del Lago
Founded by the Romans in 290 BC, in the Middle Ages Piegaro was a fief of the nearby towns (Montegabbione, Orvieto, Perugia, Marsciano) until it became part of the Papal States in the 16th century. Papal rule ended in 1860 with the birth of the Kingdom of Italy.
Sights in the village's historic center include the Church of San Silvestro, the Church of Madonna della Crocetta (16th century) with a wooden statue of Ecce Homo, Palazzo Misciatelli-Pallavicini (18th cent.) and the Palace of the Bulgarelli counts of Marsciano. Nearby, Piegaro offers interesting sightseeing opportunities: in the small medieval village of Castiglion Fosco there is a unique round tower and the Church of Santa Croce; another medieval village, Cibottola, has a castle, the Church of San Fortunato and the Convent of San Bartolomeo; Gaiche, with a castle (13th century), the Church of San Lorenzo (1391) and the Oratory of San Bernardino; in Greppolischieto, the small church of San Lorenzo (14th century); and in Pietrafitta, the Abbey of Sette Frati (11th-12th century) and the churches of Madonna del Fosso and Santa Maria Assunta. For nature lovers, there is Montarale Park: it covers the area of Mt. Arale, from which there is a beautiful view of the Nestore river valley all the way to Perugia and Lake Trasimeno.