Museum complex of San Francesco in Montefalco
There is a pearl of rare beauty in Montefalco, which, together with Sagrantino wine, makes this village unique: it is the church of San Francesco built between 1335 and 1338 by the Friars Minor and transformed into a museum in 1990, along with rooms of the adjoining convent.
The excellence of the complex stands out: the fresco cycle in the apse of the church, with twenty episodes dedicated to the life of St. Francis, commissioned by the learned patron Fra' Jacopo da Montefalco and recently restored. Notable among them are the episodes of the Birth of the Saint, Francis Giving His Clothes to a Poor Soldier, the Preaching to the Birds and the Greccio Nativity Scene. They date to 1452 by master Benozzo Gozzoli, who also executed the frescoes in the chapel of St. Jerome. This cycle recalls the 28 scenes of Giotto's masterpiece, painted in in the Basilica of St. Francis in Assisi.